A Beautiful Exchange.

I don’t know why some people don’t understand Jesus. And don’t understand His love. It leaves me heartbroken and pondering where they stand in their walk. Yesterday my Facebook exploded because I posted something about Rob Bell – and his un-Biblical teachings and beliefs; that are going to hurt so many fellow believers – and hinder those that are still lost. I knew it was going to happen (the ranting and raving on my Facebook), but honestly I didn’t care. I don’t want to sit here idly and watch the world – and people I love – head into destruction because I didn’t say anything. Aren’t we supposed to help? Aren’t we supposed to love? That’s what I believe. Loving is not condoning ..love is loving – unconditionally, and in truth. Jesus loved us unconditionally, but He made it clear what will gain you access to His Kingdom. There are many things that can prevent you – even being really mad at someone because they “wronged you”. I have to admit, I have had my fair-share of grievances with people, but I don’t want my eternal life/salvation to be based on that “one time that someone was mean to me” or “cut me off in traffic”. It’s just not worth it.

I know living in this world, and living this life dedicated to Christ – is going to cost me. It already has. Even though a BAZILLION of my friends on FB (and just in this life) haven’t “unfriended” me yet, I’m sure they would because of what I believe in – and WHO I believe in. But I am not going to just sit back and watch everyone head into destruction. And I will be the first to let you know what I believe in (if you ask me). God gave us the free will to do what we want with our lives. I don’t go around telling my homosexual friends that they are going to hell or that they are sinners. Obviously, that wouldn’t help them, or be loving for that matter. But it’s also unloving to keep my mouth shut, and just sit back and watch everything in their lives fall apart. Especially when I know the Truth. I want to make it clear that it is not my job (or right) to judge an unbeliever here on earth (1 Corinthians 5:12-13). I’m only trying to show them who He is, so that He will move them to want to change their lives (or their behaviors) – and escape the bondage of sin; gaining His salvation. It’s that simple. And if they don’t agree with me, then they can chose to ignore it, block me – or just agree to disagree with me.  I don’t conform my beliefs to make people happy. Last I checked ..

Galatians 1:10 –  “Obviously, I’m not trying to win the approval of people, but of God. If pleasing people were my goal, I would not be Christ’s servant.”

I know that there will be a lot of people that will be deceived by worldly-views and just continue to parrot the Word of God. People want to hear what they want to hear. Not what God wants us to hear – or do for that matter. We want to be in control of our lives from the start – as we are human. We are selfish by nature. I had to learn the difference, and I know a lot of people that have had to learn that the hard way. I grew up going to church, but that doesn’t make me a Christian, a believer – or saved for that matter. That also doesn’t guarantee me a spot in heaven. I’m a good person (sometimes), do good things for people, I live to give, and I remained a virgin until I was married to my husband. But that doesn’t guarantee me anything either.

Doing good deeds (or good things for people) is the icing of the salvation cake, since faith without deeds is dead (James 2:14). But that doesn’t save you. Only Jesus saves you. I’ve made some mistakes, and almost did some things that I would’ve regretted – even while on the path to becoming a Christian. I used to cuss, ridicule/make fun of people & have had my own struggles here and there. But that wasn’t the end of the road for me, and definitely not the end of the road for a lot of you. Giving my life to Christ guarantees His complete salvation, but it doesn’t come without lots of hard work and perseverance. It’s not just one prayer you say, or that if you just “..believe in Jesus” you will be saved. It’s not that simple. That doesn’t cut it. Even demons (and satan) believe in God (James 2:19). You have to LIVE for Jesus. You have change your ways, walk away from your sins – and change your whole life to follow Him. It’s called sacrifice.

I know that most of my family disagrees with my beliefs. I’ve heard stories of family members poking fun of me and my sister Allyssa; who is also a Christian, behind our backs. They say we are “too religious” or things of that nature. Yes, it hurts. And that hurt runs really deep because it’s family. These are the same people that helped raise us, changed our diapers, wiped our tears and loved us. That is why it is so hard. But honestly, as I sat here on my bed listening and Worshipping God while the song “A Beautiful Exchange” by Hillsong played on my laptop, I cried my eyes out ..not because I am sad because people (including family) can be mean, intolerant and harsh – but I balled my eyes out because I cannot believe how much He loves me, and why He chose to die for me. I am worthless without Him. I am a mess, I am unforgivable (in my eyes), and a horrible person. No, I have never killed anyone or done anything the world would consider “bad”. I was just born this way. I was born a sinner, and I need Him badly.

I also balled because of the love I have for the lost, and feel that I am hopeless in saving them. Just hopeless. But I know through Him I can do all things (Philippians 4:13), and by seeing how much I am growing apart from the world – and apart from family members and friends living in the world – shows me that I’m doing the right thing. Regardless of what people say to me (or regardless of what people think of me), I will continue to press on in my walk with Christ. I will continue to pray for their salvation; as we do every night before putting Jonah to bed, and I will continue to love unconditionally; just as He did – because that is what I am called to do. Jesus was hated, ridiculed, and treated so horribly during His time here on earth. But He didn’t waver, He stood firm and pressed on.

John 15:18 –  “If the world hates you, remember that it hated me first.”

Also, I want to make it known that I am not in some sort of “cult”; as some of my family likes to view me as being in. I am a Christian. I am in a relationship with the One and Only – Jesus Christ. I have come to the realization that those that are parroting don’t really fully know who He is; as I used to do that. I have also come to the conclusion that you won’t know (or grow) unless you read the Word of God; as I am daily-reminded. I know that l will lose friends and family members in this life here on earth – and many will turn their backs on me. They did that to Jesus. It’s inevitable. But I have also come to know that this life is not my own – and it is only temporary.

When it’s all said-and-done, and if what I believe in doesn’t come true ..then my only sacrifice was losing their relationships; which isn’t that much of a loss in my opinion. And that’s only because I put Him first. I was never mean to anyone. I never hated anyone, or carried out hate crimes. I never cussed people out because they disagreed with me or my views, or picketed at peoples’ funerals because they were “living in sin”. All I did was obey the Word of God; showing love to everyone, but not compromising my beliefs. My gay friends, substance-addicted relatives, bitter family members, or my friends/family living in sexual promiscuity outside of the covenant of marriage are not judged by me. They are judged by the Word of God. I don’t have a say in their salvation, only God does. I do have a job though – to preach the Good News, and to share Jesus with them. I know I can’t change them, and they have the free will to do what they want with their lives; and believe me, they do. But in the end, I would rather risk losing these so-called relationships on earth by planting the seed of salvation, instead of losing my life to eternal fires in hell because I sat here and didn’t say anything to them. And didn’t do my part, or what I was called to do.

Matthew 10:35 & 36 –  “‘I have come to set a man against his father, a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law. Your enemies will be right in your own household.'” 

For those of you who don’t understand Christianity, or those of you who just listen to what ‘everyone else says’, and then base your salvation on what you hear (or what has been passed down the grapevine), please hear me out! Pick up your Bible. Read it for yourself. Study His Word day in and day out, research all of those other religions you think are way better. I am certain you will not find a religion more loving, humble, gentle and forgiving as Christianity. And you will not find a person more loving, humble, gentle and forgiving as a Christian. Also, pray. Pray to God to open up your eyes to what He has. To show you that His way is “the way the truth and the life” (John 14:6). And ask Him to explain all of this to you. It’s worth it. He will show you.

Romans 12:2 –  “Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.”

Leave a Reply

